Blog For Mental Health 2015

Something I wanted to do last year but never got to, Blog For Mental Health (BFMH) is an excellent initiative. It kicked off in 2012 and promotes raising awareness of mental health issues while fighting stigma and misconceptions.

After not getting to it in 2014, I have decided to participate in BFMH 2015. The rules are rather simple, including writing blog posts about mental health (all I ever do) and posting the following pledge:

“I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2015 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.” –Blog For Mental Health

Because it sounds so much like what I do already, participating was an easy decision. I’m used to blogging on my lonesome, in isolation from the rest of the internet, so I look forward to being part of something bigger – allowing others to discover my blog, while discovering the blogs of many others who care deeply about mental health issues.

I know I often lose credibility due to my young age – sixteen – but I hope this will not be the case with BFMH. My struggles with my mental health go back to 2006, which was when I lived with what I realized was, in retrospect, an anxiety disorder. Fast forward to 2015 and I’ve been through a number of depressive episodes, which included self-injury and suicide attempts, among many other problems. I also know many people, friends and family members, who have had a wide variety of struggles as well.

I know I don’t have all the information; I haven’t studied in university or gotten a degree, nor will this necessarily become a career path for me. But I have first-hand experiences, I’m armed with statistics, and I’m facing odds, a lot of odds that are not necessarily in my favour. And I plan on beating those odds – and helping others do the same.

One comment

Leave a Reply

